top of page
Writer's pictureBadea Iulia Gabriela

Local Sports Activity in Romania

PRESS RELEASE

Research on Traditional Sport and Games


Young people, together with seniors spent a great time in discovering the traditional sports and games like "Baba-Oarba", "Mate Incalcite", "Moara", "Elasticul", "Liniuta" (with old coins), "Odgonul", "Ratele si vanatorii".


Seniors shred with the younger generation their memories regarding these games and how positively influenced their behaviour.


Testimonies


"It was a pleasure for me to interview a senior. The discussions were pleasant and interesting. During the interview, I tried to imagine the times in which these people lived and what wonderful things they could create with very few resources. Important for them was that feeling of freedom and dynamism."


"For me it was so interesting to watch these seniors how they remembered the games of their childhood, the variations of games they could create without a strict organizational framework. I understood that the times lived by these seniors during their childhood were marked by material shortages, of food or toys, because the state policy with Soviet influences left its mark even on everyday life."


"Right from the first moment when I heard about this project idea, I said that I must participate in it and download my memories for the benefit of the AGILE project.

The interview took me back through my childhood in the countryside where I found myself with the children of my generation. What remained vivid in my mind is the joy with which we could play all kinds of traditional games."


"I'm glad I could share from my childhood and teenage memories. Even if the traditional games presented are less played now or have undergone transformations, I think they have a huge educational potential. They were the voice of the people, they provided the traditional connection between generations and geographical areas. This kind of project has the role of connecting generations and bringing to light games with a great educational role."


Discover more traditional sports and games from Romania by pressing the button







12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page